Posted by: holdenlee | April 6, 2013

On Talking to Strangers


A while ago, I thought of asking on Quora, under what circumstances do people spill their life to strangers? I mean, it happens in books and stuff, but in real life? Hard to imagine.

Looking around, I saw that my question had really already been answered, at “What is the best way to get to know someone in a short amount of time?” The interview with Maurice Sendak mentioned in the first post is the most beautiful interview I’ve ever heard. (Go listen to it.)

It’s not every day you get to see something like this happen in front of your face.

It was at a potluck/party. I missed everything in the conversation except the very end. I can’t say anything about it other than it was on something very dark/disturbing. But it convinced me these things really happen: strangers opening up to each other. It gets me thinking, how little we know about the people who we pass by everyday.

Leave a Reply

Categories

